Posted on Leave a comment

Photos from China: Macau Redux – the Fortresses

Macau was, until 1999, a colony of Portugal. Macau is in — more or less — 2 parts: the Peninsula, which contain the UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Historic Centre of Macau, and then there are the islands, which contain, Taipai, Cologne and Cotai.

The Portuguese built TWO major military fortresses while occupying Macau — the Fortaleza do Monte, and the Guia Fortress.

Leave a Reply